01 · Market definition & taxonomy

Why do Australian data centre market size estimates differ so much?

Australian data centres · as at 2026-09-21 · primer pages 9, 11, 12 of 85

Five research houses measure five different markets: the root cause of every conflicting headline

Five research houses publish five different 2025 numbers for Australian data centres, from A$3.5bn to A$7.3bn, because they measure five different things. What each house counts, the scope quirk in each, and why the bars cannot share an axis.

What each house actually measures · houses 1-4 of 5

What each house actually measures · houses 1-4 of 5. Source: IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); CBRE Global Data Center Trends (24 Jun 2025); IMARC (2026); M3 Property (18 Nov 2025); Colliers Research/DC Byte via M3 Property. As at 21 Sep 2026.
HouseMeasuresScope quirkHeadline (2025-26)
IBISWorld IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026)Revenue (ANZSIC J5921 + OD5323)Narrow hosting/colocation definitionsA$3.5bn + A$1.5bn
CBRE / JLL / Knight Frank / C&W / ColliersPhysical capacity (live, UC, planned MW)Colocation + hyperscale-serviced; self-builds inconsistent~1.3-1.5 GW live (CBRE)
IMARC IMARC (2026)Revenue, solution + servicesBroadest scope; global-modelledUS$4.8bn (~A$7.3bn)
M3 PropertyOccupancy: MW taken by usersDemand-side, not supply-side1,315 MW (2025)

the longest sustained period of demand growth exceeding supply growth since records began in 2005

What we do about it

  1. 1. Revenue questions Answered on IBISWorld/IMARC definitions, presented as a range (Section 02).
  2. 2. Capacity questions Answered in IT MW on the ITK/CBRE basis, with M3's built-out figure shown separately (Sections 02, 03).
  3. 3. Market-share questions Answered with explicit triangulation caveats; no audited share-of-MW series exists (Section 07).
  4. 4. Pipeline questions Discounted for phantom demand using AEMO/Oxford Economics before any figure is relied on (Section 05).

Methodology heritage

Take-up exceeded new supply in both 2023 and 2024. That record-long series is why Australian capacity data, though definable differently across houses, is unusually deep.

2025 revenue estimates span A$3.5bn to A$7.3bn, a 2x range driven by scope, not disagreement about demand

Published market-size estimates · 1 of 2

Published market-size estimates · 1 of 2. Source: IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); IMARC (2026); Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets (Feb 2026); Mordor Intelligence (Jan, Mar 2026); Arizton via PR Newswire (9 May 2024). As at 21 Sep 2026.
Source (date)Base sizeForecastCAGRBasis
IBISWorld, Cloud Hosting & Data Processing (J5921) IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026)A$3.5bn 2025 (+9.8% YoY)A$4.1bn 20267.6% (2020-25)Revenue, narrow
IBISWorld, Internet Hosting Services (OD5323) IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026)A$1.5bn 2026+10.8% in 2025-269.2% (2021-26)Revenue incl. colocation
IBISWorld data storage (via M3, Sep 2024) IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026)A$5.2bn FY20238.2% p.a. next 5 yrs5.6% prior 5 yrsRevenue
IMARC (2026 edition) IMARC (2026)US$4.8bn 2025; US$3.7bn 2020US$8.2bn 20345.47% (2026-34)Revenue, broad solution+services
Arizton via R&M (Feb 2026)US$4.22bn 2025US$9.02bn 203113.52%Investment

2025-26 market size, A$bn

2025-26 market size, A$bn. Source: IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); IMARC (2026); Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets (Feb 2026); Mordor Intelligence (Jan, Mar 2026); Arizton via PR Newswire (9 May 2024). As at 21 Sep 2026.
ItemValue (A$)
IBISWorld J5921 only (2025) IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026)3.5
IBISWorld J5921 + OD5323 (2026) IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026)5.6
Arizton investment basis (2025)6.4
IMARC solution + services (2025) IMARC (2026)7.3
Mordor hyperscale-only (2026) Mordor Intelligence (Jan, Mar 2026)9.5

Reading the chart

Reading the chart. Source: IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); IMARC (2026); Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets (Feb 2026); Mordor Intelligence (Jan, Mar 2026); Arizton via PR Newswire (9 May 2024). As at 21 Sep 2026.

Comparability
Bars are NOT like-for-like: scope ranges from narrow hosting (IBISWorld J5921) to broad solution+services (IMARC) and hyperscale-only (Mordor).
Basis
The Arizton bar counts investment spend; the other four count revenue, and no conversion joins the two.
Currency
US$ figures converted at the IMARC-implied 0.66 USD/AUD (inashanu conversion)
A$3.5bnlow end of 2025 revenue estimates
IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); IMARC (2026); Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets (Feb 2026)
A$7.3bnhigh end of 2025 revenue estimates
IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); IMARC (2026); Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets (Feb 2026)
2xrange driven by definitional scope
IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); IMARC (2026); Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets (Feb 2026)

Three distinct markets hide inside these rows

Published market-size estimates · 2 of 2 · n/d = not disclosed

Published market-size estimates · 2 of 2 · n/d = not disclosed. Source: IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); IMARC (2026); Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets (Feb 2026); Mordor Intelligence (Jan, Mar 2026); Arizton via PR Newswire (9 May 2024). As at 21 Sep 2026.
Source (date)Base sizeForecastCAGRBasis
Mordor Intelligence (Jan 2026) Mordor Intelligence (Jan, Mar 2026)3,530 MW 20257,180 MW 203015.25%Capacity, not revenue
Mordor, hyperscale segment (Mar 2026) Mordor Intelligence (Jan, Mar 2026)US$6.27bn 2026US$16.18bn 203120.88%Hyperscale revenue
Arizton 2024 vintage (9 May 2024)n/dUS$7.71bn by 20293.22%Pre-AI-boom vintage; investment basis

Mordor: capacity path (MW)

  1. 3,530 MW 2025 base
  2. 7,180 MW 2030 forecast

Mordor: hyperscale revenue (US$bn)

  1. US$6.27bn 2026 base
  2. US$16.18bn 2031 forecast

Three markets, one table

~A$5.6bnNarrow hosting: IBISWorld J5921 + OD5323 combined, 2026
IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); IMARC (2026); Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets (Feb 2026)
~A$7.3bnBroad solutions: IMARC, including hardware-adjacent solutions revenue
IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); IMARC (2026); Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets (Feb 2026)
MW, not A$Capacity: Mordor, measured in MW; not comparable to any revenue row
IBISWorld (Oct 2025, Mar 2026); IMARC (2026); Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets (Feb 2026)

CAGRs from 3.2% to 20.9% map directly onto those scope choices and forecast vintage.

Sources

  1. IBISWorld, as at Oct 2025, Mar 2026
  2. CBRE Global Data Center Trends, as at 24 Jun 2025
  3. IMARC, as at 2026
  4. M3 Property, as at 18 Nov 2025
  5. Colliers Research/DC Byte via M3 Property
  6. Arizton via ResearchAndMarkets, as at Feb 2026
  7. Mordor Intelligence, as at Jan, Mar 2026
  8. Arizton via PR Newswire, as at 9 May 2024
  9. Arizton via PR Newswire (9 May 2024). US$/A$ comparability flagged in the chart on page 11

Related

The full primer is published as an 85-page PDF (download) with the underlying market model as a workbook (download).

This page is one of 30 in Australian data centres: the research, indexed by the question each one answers, with the four pages where the published sources disagree set first.

The research is published by inashanu, a studio that produces fixed-scope market research for Australian private equity, priced and dated before work starts. The sample engagement is this primer in full.

This standard, on your question. Six fixed-price deliverables, A$14,000 to A$45,000 excluding GST, opening at the A$14,000 market map in 10 business days. State the decision and the date it has to be made; the written assessment of whether the evidence base will carry it follows within two business days and carries no charge. Request a brief assessment · the catalogue and its prices.

Source: inashanu price schedule, effective 21 September 2026.